Video

Somewhere in the Middle

I know this song has been around a while, but my family first encountered it just a couple months ago when we bought the Casting Crowns “Acoustic Sessions Vol. I” CD. Just about every phrase in these lyrics brings me to some gut-wrenching wrestling with who I am in Christ. To my mind, this song is a masterpiece because it does what a great song should – it makes me think and it makes me feel.

Somewhere in the Middle
Lyrics by Mark Hall

Somewhere between the hot and the cold
Somewhere between the new and the old
Somewhere between who I am and who I used to be
Somewhere in the middle, You’ll find me.

Somewhere between the wrong and the right
Somewhere between the darkness and the light
Somewhere between who I was and who You’re making me
Somewhere in the middle, You’ll find me.

Just how close can I get Lord, to my surrender
Without losing all control?

Fearless warriors in a picket fence,
Reckless abandon wrapped in common sense
Deep water faith in the shallow end
And we are caught in the middle.
With eyes wide open to the differences,
The God we want and the God who is
But will we trade our dreams for His?
Or are we caught in the middle?
Caught in the middle.

Somewhere between my heart and my hands
Somewhere between my faith and my plans
Somewhere between the safety of the boat
And the crashing waves.

Somewhere between a whisper and a roar
Somewhere between the altar and the door
Somewhere between contented peace and always wanting more
Somewhere in the middle You’ll find me.

Just how close can I get Lord, to my surrender
Without losing all control?

Fearless warriors in a picket fence,
With reckless abandon wrapped in common sense
Deep water faith in the shallow end
And we are caught in the middle.
With eyes wide open to the differences,
The God we want and the God who is
But will we trade our dreams for His?
Or are we caught in the middle?

Lord, I feel You in this place and I know You’re by my side
Loving me even on these nights
When I’m caught in the middle
Caught in the middle.

Lord, I feel You in this place and I know You’re by my side
And hear Your voice tonight
Yes Lord, I’m caught in the middle
Caught in the middle.

Each time I hear this song, it convicts me deeply. The lyrics capture the real crux of the decision we must make when choosing to follow Christ: will we “go all in”? Will we make a total commitment to Him, or will we always hold a little back for ourselves? Will we truly “trade our dreams for His”, or are we kidding ourselves and lying to the one we call Lord?

I am convinced that this total surrender and total commitment is the step that is necessary to experience the abundant life that Jesus promises. It is the step that so many of us seem unwilling to take, and that is why we do not experience the fullness of His love, joy and peace overflowing in our lives every moment.

I do not know about Mark Hall’s theology, but he ends up bringing the listener back to an assurance that God will meet us wherever we are – even if that place is far removed from total commitment. This feels good, and it comforts me – but in the midst of that comfort, I hear the echo of Jesus’ words:

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment.”
– Matthew 22:37-38

“I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.”
– Rev. 3:15-16

I would be very interested to read any thoughts you are willing to share on these lyrics, and what responses they evoke in your heart.

One thought on “Somewhere in the Middle

  1. I love this song because it is so real. Some folks might find it uncomfortable to face this truth about themselves. I think feeling and or being caught in the middle is very necessary for Christian growth. The instruction given us in the Bible not only glorifies Father, but is also very healthy for us. It amazes me the love shown in this. Compare this to an earthly king. We are often caught in the middle of being caught in the middle. We must choose every time what to do in these situations. Self sovereignty is often a struggle for us. It is hard to trust ourselves to the wisdom, power and control of some one else. We want to write our own story. We need to cling to Christ when we are caught in the middle and never let go. Grace as we all know is a gift. When we sin Father will convict us and Godly sorrow will follow. Romans 8:1. Hold on to Father with all of your strength when you are up against being caught in the middle, no matter how bad it gets, if you allow Him, He will never leave you and will gently lead you out of the middle.

Leave a Reply

